Review: The Blood of Olympus

The Blood of OlympusThe Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Well, it’s another end to another great journey. As with any awesome series, I’m feel somewhat sad to see the characters off. Especially this crew of “misfit” demigods.

As much as I loved this book, it definitely left me wanting. But maybe that’s what the author intended. The characters are, after all, demigods. Their story is hardly ever really over, sometimes not even after death, as has been the case with many gods and heroes before them. So, it would seem appropriate to have some of these characters come away from the aftermath of the final battle with questions yet to be answered.

However, I’m sure that doesn’t sit well with many readers. Even I wanted more of a clear cut happy ending at the end of a 6-book journey, but I’m not disappointed.

Rick didn’t falter in showing us the growth of each character through the previous five books. He made them more apparent of their changes, in physical appearance, personality, and self-esteem. Those middle school and high school years are torturous in terms of personal development, and it seems Rick understands that, which is why these books draw so many young (and young-at-heart) readers to them.

In regards to some technicalities of the book, it was interesting to read from the perspectives of those characters that were somewhat deemed as secondary to the ones we’ve read from before, which is both a plus and a minus. Of course, fans would probably want to read from Percy’s, Annabeth’s, Leo’s, or Jason’s point-of-view, so it would probably disappoint those readers to realize that they won’t be experiencing this final book through them.

On the other hand, this series is a series about the lot of them, including Nico and Reyna, and I did like reading it from the different perspectives. They all deserved a chance to share their side of the story.

I did find the humor to still be there, especially where Percy and Leo were involved, but even a bit from Nico (as well as the abundant sorrow he had throughout).

Which brings me to the Nico issue. Nico’s situation represents what many young people experience in their teen life – that feeling of being out of place, thinking you’re alone, that no one understands, and the torment of your crush not reciprocating the feelings you have for him/her. Of course, him being gay adds another level of isolation, which I’m sure many still relate to, no matter their sexual preference. I really liked how the author addressed Nico’s issue of depression and loneliness, and I really hope that people in similar situations take note and are able to overcome their own problems.

This type of awkwardness and feeling of being unworthy or abnormal or out-of-place is experienced with all the characters in different ways, and each with their own story, which only makes the journey through the series all the more well developed, giving hope to readers that being different may seem like a weakness, but is a strength – a value among friends.
Rick Riordan has expressed that time and time again throughout the novel, and has shown that through our challenges we can find ourselves better for it. Wiser from it.

And understanding that makes the characters more real. Although we are finished with the series, and we may never get to read another novel about Percy or the other Greek or Roman demigods, I feel like they still live on past the end of what the author has written, living their demigod lives at Camp Half-Blood or Camp Jupiter or anywhere around the world. Whenever I feel that the characters still live on like that, I can be satisfied with the end of the story.

Rick has created a world that many can relate to and he’s finished off the series with much more than just action and humor, but also with great characters and with heart. I love these characters not because they are funny or they kick butt, not because of this thing or that thing. I love these characters because they are all those things together and, yes, even because they are flawed, because I can relate to that more than anything else.

I guess this isn’t really the best “review” about the book. All I can say is the book is good. Even though it wasn’t my favorite in the series, it still was great and it felt like an end to a chapter in the endless chapter of gods/goddesses and their offspring.

For me, this is just my way of saluting the end of another great series. I will miss reading about Percy and Annabeth and the friends that they’ve made, the including the rest of the prophecy of seven, and Nico and Reyna. I will miss them all, but I know they are not gone forever. Thank gods for that!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

